Kane Could Leave In Search Of Trophies — Rooney

Partager

Wayne Rooney discussed a number of subjects in his maiden appearance as a pundit on Sky Sports' Monday Night Football show.

The Serbia midfielder became Palace's joint-top scorer this season in the process. But the top players are remembered for the trophies they have won.

Kane is loved by the Tottenham fans, he is scoring goals for fun for the North London outfit, and he is the main man at the club.

It's that moment in the game - going with the assistant instead of sticking to his guns - that Irish betting shop Paddy Power have leapt all over in their Twitter post. "It's great to watch".

By contrast, Tottenham manager Mauricio Pochettino congratulated the officials for having the bravery to award two spot-kicks to the visitors at Anfield. Kane said. "Can you get better and better when people don't expect you to?"

What's there to say about this weekend's game?

"He's got aggression, passion, desire". He then added: "I'm giving the penalty". "That's what Manchester United have lacked".

Referee Jon Moss admits he was "misguided" to ask for television footage while awarding Tottenham a penalty at Liverpool, but Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PGMOL) has backed his ultimate decision. This time Kane scored to chalk up his 100th Premier League goal.

"He can go where he wants to".

"I can see why Moss didn't originally give it and I was surprised Smart flagged it as a penalty".

"I thought it was a dive - that is my opinion and the referee thought it was no offside and no dive and he gave a pen. I don't think that is a pen and the same with the first one". "He wanted to be middle of interest and he is". That portion of the play is the less controversial part.

Now, though, with errors creeping into Dier's game on a more frequent basis, the reasons not to start him are beginning to outweigh the reasons for. "Once the assistant's flag has gone up, Moss is bound to give it as he has got to publicly support his colleague".

But the 24-year-old was criticised afterwards by Reds defender Van Dijk, who insisted Kane dived to win the first penalty and that the second was undeserved, too.

Moss twice tells Smart he does not know if Lovren touched it or not and is heard asking fourth official Martin Atkinson, via his headset, if he "got anything from TV", only to almost immediately say "I'm giving the penalty" and point to the spot.

Kane was standing in an offside position when he received the pass but squandered the opportunity from the spot as he struck the penalty straight at Karius.

Information from Press Association Sport was used in this report.

Partager